Your Christian Fiction Information Source

Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Anne Elisabeth Stengl

Anne Elisabeth Stengl

Anne Elisabeth Stengl makes her home in Raleigh, North Carolina, where she enjoys her profession as an art teacher, giving private lessons from her personal studio, and teaching group classes at the Apex Learning Center. She studied illustration at Grace College and English literature at Campbell University.
Fantasy Saga From Debut Author Raises Bar

Fantasy Saga From Debut Author Raises Bar

(July 1, 2010)
Press Release


Minneapolis, MN—With the release of her debut this summer, author Anne Elisabeth Stengl welcomes readers young and old into a magical and mysterious world infused with Tolkien-esque sensibilities and a strong dose of dragons. In the tradition of Donita K. Paul or Bryan Davis, Heartless is an exciting read full of action, adventure, and romance.

According to Stengl, the story began as a short, semi-autobiographical piece written to help understand and cope with hurt in her own life. The piece broadened to deal with “the death of dreams—about letting go of the dream and the bitterness.”

Though a personal story, she found it had many undertones that readers of all ages and backgrounds could relate to. A discovery that early readers corroborated, as she posted small parts of her initial manuscript on her blog.

"I was surprised at the reader response to the plot. There was a lot of enthusiasm and curiosity about where I was taking it,” says Stengl.

Such reactions were the catalyst that led her to take this therapeutic exercise and turn it into a full novel for publication. But the process wasn’t smooth sailing. "There is a surprising amount of research that goes into writing a fairy tale, even though it is set in my own invented world,” said Stengl, who immersed herself in the writings of Spencer and Shakespeare and, of all things, the sport of fencing. “At first I simply read manuals on fencing and a few classic swashbuckler novels. Later on I started taking fencing classes myself, which has turned into an exciting hobby!”

Such diligence in crafting her story helps to make Heartless the perfect blend of fantasy and adventure with a love story for the ages, a combination sure to resonate with the emerging generation of readers.




fiction book trailer