Your Christian Fiction Information Source

Monday, December 05, 2016
Home > Authors > Jan Watson > News
Jan Watson

Jan Watson

Jan Watson won the 2004 Christian Writers Guild Operation First Novel contest for her first novel, Troublesome Creek. Jan was a registered nurse for 25 years at Central Baptist Hospital in Lexington, Kentucky. She incorporated her nursing experience in the hospital's mother/baby unit into her novels. Jan resides in Kentucky.
Award-Winning Author Jan Watson Presents One Woman’s Struggle When Her Past and Present Collide

Award-Winning Author Jan Watson Presents One Woman’s Struggle When Her Past and Present Collide

(June 29, 2012)
CAROL STREAM, IL — Lilly Gray Corbett has just graduated from medical school and decided to accept an internship in the coal camp of Skip Rock, Kentucky. Her beau, Paul, is doing his residency in Boston and can’t understand why Lilly would choose to work in a backwater town. But having grown up in the mountains, Lilly is drawn to the stubborn, superstitious people she encounters in Skip Rock — a town where people live hard and die harder and where women know their place. Lilly soon learns she has a lot to overcome, but after saving the life of a young miner, she begins to earn the residents' trust.

Torn between joining Paul in Boston and her love for the people of Skip Rock, Lilly crosses paths with a handsome miner — one who seems oddly familiar. Her attraction for him grows, even as she wrestles with her feelings and wonders what he's hiding.

Tyndale House Publishers presents Skip Rock Shallows, a stand-alone novel by Jan Watson, award-winning author of the Troublesome Creek series. Set in a Kentucky coal-mining town in 1908, Skip Rock Shallows is about one woman’s struggle to make difficult choices in life. Lilly is at a crossroads when her past and present situations collide. She must choose between the future she had imagined and the new path that sits unexpectedly before her in Jan Watson’s engaging work of historical fiction.



fiction book trailer