Your Christian Fiction Information Source

Friday, October 21, 2016
Home > News
An Acclaimed Debut  From a Promising New Voice in Fiction

An Acclaimed Debut From a Promising New Voice in Fiction

(July 21, 2014)
Minneapolis, MN—New author Sarah Loudin Thomas is making waves with her debut novel, Miracle in a Dry Season. Endorsed by #1 New York Times bestselling author Debbie Macomber, Thomas’s debut also received a starred review in Library Journal, who called it “a work that makes you sit up and take notice.” Offering a sweet romance, warmly drawn characters, and a touch of the miraculous, Miracle in a Dry Season will appeal to readers of Charles Martin, Debbie Macomber, and Karen Kingsbury. In this love story filled with down-home charm, Thomas paints a lovely picture of our innate need to forgive and be forgiven.

It’s 1954 and Perla Long’s arrival in the sleepy town of Wise, West Virginia, was supposed to go unnoticed. She just wants a quiet, safe place for her and her daughter, Sadie, where the mistakes of her past can stay hidden. But then drought comes to Wise, and Perla is pulled into the turmoil of a town desperately in need of a miracle.

Casewell Phillips has resigned himself to life as a bachelor . . . until he meets Perla. She’s everything he’s sought in a woman, but he can’t get past the sense that she’s hiding something. As the drought worsens, Perla’s unique gift divides the town in two, bringing both gratitude and condemnation, and placing the pair in the middle of a storm of anger and forgiveness, fear and faith.

“Fans of Karen Kingsbury’s feel-good stories of heartfelt lessons will love Thomas’s debut. . . . Once in a while a new author comes along with a work that makes you sit up and take notice. Thomas has crafted a tale of this proportion.” —Library Journal starred review

“Thomas’s fiction debut offers sympathetic, wholesome protagonists seeking to live faithful, prayerful lives and engaging supporting characters in subplots that explore the overarching themes of forgiveness, redemption, and the wideness of God’s love.” —Publishers Weekly

Click HERE to download  Sarah Loudin Thomas' eNovella Appalachian Serenade.
For a limited time -- promotion provided by Bethany House Publisher. 




fiction book trailer