The Christy Advisory Board has announced the nominees in nine categories for the 14th annual Christy Awards for excellence in Christian fiction. The awards, which will be handed out in June, are named after the groundbreaking novel by Catherine Marshall.

Related link: The Christy Awards: Honoring Exceptional Christian Fiction

This year’s nominees for the 2013 Christy Awards:

Contemporary Romance
The Breath of Dawn by Kristen Heitzmann (Bethany House)
Lethal Legacy by Irene Hannon (Revell Books)
Wildflowers from Winter by Katie Ganshert (WaterBrook Press)

Contemporary Series, Sequels, and Novellas
Two Destinies by Elizabeth Musser (David C. Cook)
You Don’t Know Me by Susan May Warren (Tyndale House)
Waiting for Sunrise by Eva Marie Everson (Revell Books)

Contemporary Standalone
The Air We Breathe by Christa Parrish (Bethany House)
Borders of the Heart by Chris Fabry (Tyndale House)
Not in the Heart by Chris Fabry (Tyndale House)

First Novel
Into the Free by Julie Cantrell (David C. Cook)
Tangled Ashes by Michele Phoenix (Tyndale House)
Wedded to War by Jocelyn Green (River North)

Flame of Resistance by Tracy Groot (Tyndale House)
Wedded to War by Jocelyn Green (River North)
A Wreath of Snow: A Victorian Christmas Novella by Liz Curtis Higgs (WaterBrook Press)

Historical Romance
Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden (Bethany House)
Be Still My Soul by Joanne Bischof (Multnomah Books)
Love’s Reckoning by Laura Frantz (Revell Books)

Downfall by Terri Blackstock (Zondervan)
The Last Plea Bargain by Randy Singer (Tyndale House)
Rare Earth by Davis Bunn (Bethany House)
Submerged by Dani Pettrey (Bethany House)
(Category includes four nominees due to a tie in scoring)

Daughter of Light by Morgan L. Busse (Marcher Lord Press)
Soul’s Gate by James L. Rubart (Thomas Nelson)
Starflower by Anne Elisabeth Stengl (Bethany House)

Young Adult
Child of the Mountains by Marilyn Sue Shank (Delacorte Press)
Failstate by John W. Otte (Marcher Lord Press)
Interrupted: A Life Beyond Words by Rachel Coker (Zondervan)

Created in 1999 to recognize novelists and novels of excellence, the Christy Awards honor authors in several categories. Each year, when publishers submit titles for consideration, the novels are read and evaluated against ten criteria by a panel comprised of librarians, literary critics, reviewers, and other readers that have no associations with a publishing company.

See also: 2012 Christy Award winners

Check out more great articles