ST. LOUIS, Mo.–The 2013 Christy Awards honoring and promoting excellence in Christian fiction were presented June 24, 2013 at the Renaissance Grand in St. Louis, Missouri. The 14th
annual awards presentation highlighted the role of literary agents in the advancement of Christian fiction. Steve Laube of The Steve Laube Agency emceed the event, and Chip MacGregor of MacGregor Literary Agency presented the keynote address. Additionally, long-time literary agent Lee Hough was honored with the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Christy in a moving tribute.

The Christy Advisory Committee debuted the Christy Hall of Fame by inducting authors Lynn Austin, winner of eight Christy Awards, and Karen Hancock, winner of four Christy Awards.

The event also premiered the Christy Book of the Year Award, showcasing the novel that had the greatest impact when placed against a set of criteria that includes literary quality, sales, and life impact. A jury of three people read the year’s nine Christy Award winners and identified Into the Free by Julie Cantrell (David C. Cook) as best exemplifying those factors. The Christy Advisory Board is happy to announce the 2013 Christy Award winners.

Lifetime Achievement Christy:

Literary Agent Lee Hough

Christy Award Hall of Fame:

Lynn Austin (eight Christys)
Karen Hancock (four Christys)

Book of the Year:
Into the Free
Julie Cantrell (David C. Cook)

Contemporary Romance:
The Breath of Dawn
Kristen Heitzmann (Bethany House).

Contemporary Series, Sequels & Novellas:
You Don’t Know Me
Susan May Warren (Tyndale House)

Contemporary Standalone:
Not in the Heart
Chris Fabry (Tyndale House)

First Novel:
Into the Free
Julie Cantrell (David C. Cook)

Flame of Resistance
Tracy Groot (Tyndale House)

Historical Romance:
Against the Tide
Elizabeth Camden (Bethany House)

Rare Earth
Davis Bunn (Bethany House)

Soul’s Gate
James L. Rubart (Thomas Nelson)

Young Adult:
Child of the Mountains
Marilyn Sue Shank (Delacorte Press)

The Christy Awards are online at:

Check out more great articles