The author of several Amish novels, Barbara Cameron continues her Harvest of Hope series with Buried Secrets (Gilead Publishing). Following the death of her husband, Rose packs up her young son and leaves their life in Ohio to move back to her family in Paradise, Pennsylvania. Will family secrets get in the way of a second chance at love? In this interview, the author shares her goals with the novel, the most challenging part writing it, and what she hopes readers take away after reading it…

What can you tell us about the Harvest of Hope series, and how Buried Secrets fits in?

Buried Secrets is the second in The Harvest of Hope series set in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. Rose, a widow, has returned to the community where she grew up to take over the family farm. Her twin sister, Lillian, has arranged for Luke, a newcomer to the Amish community to help her with the farm. But Lillian hopes Luke will be more than a helpmate. But Rose has a secret that she feels prevents her from having a relationship with Luke or any other man. Little does she know Luke has a secret, too.

What were your goals writing Buried Secrets?

I love writing about twins. My mom and dad had twin siblings so I heard many stories about their relationships with them as I grew up. I wanted to show readers the relationship twins can have. I also wanted to explore how a woman who has had one great love can find her way out of grief and love again. I do believe in second chances!

What was the most challenging part of writing this novel?

It can be a challenge to write about grief and not have the book be “down” and depressing. One thing that helps Rose move through her grief and find joy in life again is her little boy, Daniel. Her love for bringing the family farm back to life helps her, too.

Which character surprised you the most?

Daniel. I really enjoyed writing about him. Being around a young grandson gave me many ideas. I don’t know how parents cope with all that energy!

What do you hope readers take away after reading Buried Secrets?

I hope that readers will be entertained and inspired by Rose’s journey. Losing someone we love is hard but God can help us through it if we let Him.

Visit Barbara Cameron’s author page:

Buried Secrets
Harvest of Hope #2
Barbara Cameron
Gilead Publishing

Check out more great articles

About The Author

Barbara Cameron is a gifted storyteller and the author of many bestselling Amish novels. Twice Blessed, Barbara’s two-novella collection, won the 2016 Christian Retailing’s Best award in the Amish Fiction category. Two of her other novellas were finalists for the American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) awards. She is the first winner of the Romance Writers of America (RWA) GoldenHeart Award. Three of her fiction stories were made into HBO/Cinemax movies.

Although Barbara is best known for her romantic and Amish fiction titles, she is also a prolific nonfiction author.

Barbara is a former high school teacher and has also taught workshops and creative writing classes at national writing conferences, as well as locally. She currently teaches English and business communication classes as an adjunct instructor for the online campus of a major university.

Barbara enjoys spending time with her family and her three “nutty” Chihuahuas. She lives in Jacksonville, Florida.