In ancient Israel, at the crossroads of the great trading routes, a man
named Benaiah is searching for a fresh start in life. He has joined a
band of soldiers led by a warlord named David, seeking to bury the past
that refuses to leave him. Their ragged army is disgruntled and full of
reckless men. Some are loyal to David, but others are only with him for
the promise of captured wealth.

While the ruthless and
increasingly mad King Saul marches hopelessly against the powerful
Philistines, loyal son Jonathan in tow, the land of the Hebrew tribes
has never been more despondent—and more in need of rescue.

the course of ten days, from snowy mountain passes to sword-wracked
battlefields, Benaiah and his fellow mercenaries must call upon every
skill they have to survive and establish the throne for David—if they
don’t kill each other first.

RELATED: 13 Novels Set in Bible Times

Check out more great articles

About The Author

Cliff Graham is an officer in the United States Army National Guard and a veteran of Operation Enduring Freedom. His first novel, Day of War, about King David's mighty men, earned him a film option for the entire book series. Graham, currently serving in the Chaplain Corps, lives in the mountains of Utah with his wife, Cassandra, and their children.

Books by Cliff Graham

News & Features: Cliff Graham