When Beth Thatcher returns to Coal Valley, she has much to be excited
about. She anticipates Jarrick’s proposal of marriage and perhaps a
spring wedding. The mine is expanding, and there are more schoolchildren
than ever.

But the town’s rapid growth brings many challenges. A
second teacher is assigned, and Beth finds herself going head-to-head
with a very different philosophy of education–one that dismisses
religion and rejects God. Fearful for the children who sit under the
influence of Robert Harris Hughes, Beth struggles to know how to

At the same time, Beth wonders if Jarrick is considering
a position at her father’s company simply for her sake. Should she
admit her feelings on the matter? Or keep silent and allow Jarrick to
make up his own mind?

Check out more great articles

About The Author

Janette Oke (pronounced "oak") was one of the first inspirational authors in the Christian Fiction market. Her debut, Love Comes Softly, has sold over one million copies. Laurel Oke Logan, daughter of Edward and Janette Oke, is the author of Janette Oke: A Heart for the Prairie, as well as the novel Dana's Valley, which she co-wrote with her mom.

Books by Janette Oke & Laurel Oke Logan

News & Features: Janette Oke & Laurel Oke Logan