The American Christian Fiction Writers have released the names of the finalists for the 2013 Carol Awards.
The group also named Christian fiction pioneer Frank Peretti as the 2013 recipient of ACFW’s Lifetime Achievement Award. The Carol Awards are ACFW’s recognition for the best Christian fiction published by traditional publishing houses in the previous calendar year.
Categories include:


Heart Echoes by Sally John (Tyndale House)
You Don’t Know Me by Susan May Warren (Tyndale House)
Beyond the Storm by Carolyn Zane (Abingdon Press)

Debut Novel

Wildflowers from Winter by Katie Ganshert (Waterbrook Press)
Proof by Jordyn Redwood (Kregel Books)
A Sweethaven Summer by Courtney Walsh (Guideposts Books)

Where Lilacs Still Bloom by Jane Kirkpatrick (Waterbrook Press)
At Every Turn by Anne Mateer (Bethany House)
The Discovery by Dan Walsh (Revell Books)

Historical Romance

To Whisper Her Name by Tamera Alexander (Zondervan)
A Promise to Love by Serena B. Miller (Revell Books)
Short-Straw Bride by Karen Witemeyer (Bethany House)


Downfall by Terri Blackstock (Zondervan)
Gone to Ground by Brandilyn Collins (B&H Books)
The Soul Saver by Dineen Miller (Barbour Books)

You’re a Charmer, Mr. Grinch by Paula Moldenhauer (Barbour Books)
Impressed by Love by Lisa Karon Richardson (Barbour Books)
A Recipe for Hope by Beth Wiseman (Thomas Nelson)

The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter (Thomas Nelson)
Saving Gideon by Amy Lillard (B&H Books)
An Uncommon Grace by Serena B. Miller (Howard Books)

Romantic Suspense

Tidewater Inn by Colleen Coble (Thomas Nelson)
Saving Hope by Margaret Daley (Abingdon Press)
When a Heart Stops by Lynette Eason (Revell Books)

Daughter of Light by Morgan L. Busse (Marcher Lord Press)
Judge by R. J. Larson (Bethany House)
Daystar by Kathy Tyers (Marcher Lord Press)

Young Adult
Prophet by R.J. Larson (Bethany House)
Like Moonlight at Low Tide by Nicole Quigley (Zondervan )
The New Recruit by Jill Williamson (Marcher Lord Press)

The winners will be announced during the 2013 ACFW National Conference in Indianapolis at the Gala on September 15, 2013. The ACFW press conference also spotlighted the 2013 recipient of ACFW’s Lifetime Achievement Award—author
Frank Peretti.

“Frank Peretti has been called a publishing phenomenon when listing bestseller status, longevity of titles, and numbers of books,” said ACFW CEO Colleen Coble. “His readers, however, talk of ‘life-change,’ ‘shifts in the way I thought about prayer,’ ‘the reason this reader was moved to take up writing,’ ‘changed my life forever,’ ‘made a commitment to Christ after reading his stories,’ ‘his books aided in my walk with Jesus,’ ‘God brought healing in my life through the book,’ ‘the first work of overtly Christian fiction that actually felt genuine (those years ago when I read Peretti in high school).’ An author, thinker, and innovator whose storytelling has affected untold numbers since his books first reached bookstore shelves, Frank’s efforts continue to resonate. On behalf of readers, writers, and the publishing industry, thank you, Frank Peretti.”

Peretti and winners of the Carol Awards will be honored at the ACFW conference in Indianapolis at the award gala on Sunday night, September 15 at the Hyatt Regency. Keynote speaker for the 2013 conference is Robin Jones Gunn.

ACFW is devoted to training in the craft of Christian Fiction, educating in the market, and serving as an advocate in the traditional Christian fiction publishing industry. Approaching 3000 members with 29 local chapters in 21 states, as well as a beyond-the-borders e-chapter, ACFW speaks as The Voice of Christian Fiction. More information about the organization can be found online at

Related link:
Frank Peretti: Sleight of Hand
“I’m a storyteller. My role is to tell a story because a story can give a whole other dimension to a thought.”

Check out more great articles