Sometimes Having
It All isn’t What You Thought it Would Be

Susan May Warren’s Daughters of
Fortune series draws to a close with the release of

Seattle: Best-selling author Susan May
Warren brings what she considers to be her most ambitious series yet to a
dramatic close in her latest release, Duchess (Summerside Press). The Daughters of Fortune series is an epic generational series
following the family of New York newspaper magnate August Price from the Gilded
Age to end of World War II. Each generation of Price women must navigate love
and ambition in a world of wealth, power and social expectation.

However, there’s more to
the series than captivating tales of wealth and privilege in New York, Paris
and Hollywood. “The series is named ‘Daughters of Fortune’ not only because
of their circumstances, but because I hoped readers might see what a true
fortune looks like. What a true inheritance is when a person puts their faith
in the Lord,” says Warren.

In this final
installment, Duchess, readers pick up the story of Rosie Worth, who has achieved
her dream of becoming a starlet and is now known as Roxy Price. The golden age
of Hollywood is in the business of creating stars, and Roxy has found
everything she’s wanted in the glamour of the silver screen. With adoring fans
and a studio-mogul husband, she’s finally silenced the voices—and grief—of the
past. Her future shines bright, that is until the fated Black Friday when it
all comes crashing down.

When Roxy loses
everything, she finds herself disgraced and penniless. Her only hope is to join
forces with Belgian duke Rolfe Van Horne, a longtime film investor. But Rolfe
is not who he seems, and he has other plans for Roxy and her movies—plans to
support a growing unrest in Europe, plans that could break her heart and
endanger her life. When her country needs her, will she have the courage to
surrender her glittering world and her one true love?

The first release
in The Daughters of Fortune series, Heiress, introduced readers to the beautiful and wealthy heiress
daughters of August Price. Even though the Price sisters could have anything
money could buy, it didn’t stop them from desiring something deeper. And
it certainly couldn’t buy them love! Set in New York City during the Gilded
Age, and inspired by the Biblical story of Jacob and Esau, Warren writes the
story of the Esme and Jinx’s journey to discovering what it means to be truly

In book two, Baroness, the story picks up with Esme and Jinx’s daughters, Lilly
and Rosie, who are coming of age in the roaring twenties. Both girls are
expected to marry well and take the reins of the family empire in a world
recovering from “the war to end all wars.” However, each desires more freedom
than the life her parents have planned out for her will allow. Lilly longs to
return to Montana, the childhood home she holds dear. On the other hand, Rosie
dreams of the bright lights of the newly emerging silver screen. Will the
pursuit of lives of their own cost them their happily ever afters?

“There is nothing
better than diving into a story like this one, surrounding yourself with research
and ideas, the culmination of a storyline you’ve been working on for two
years,” Warren explains. “I loved penning this novel because I knew that after
the hard beginning of Heiress, with so much pain
and so many mistakes made by Jinx, and the bittersweet middle story, Baroness, where Rosie walks
so far away from her inheritance, Rosie’s redemption would be rich and
profound. I loved watching her discover she didn’t need the world’s applause
she longed for—that she had it all inside, with the love of God.”

Praise for the Daughters of Fortune series

characterization and fascinating historical detail… an honest reflection of
sin and the need for God’s redemption.” —

entertaining, character-driven historical that will remind readers all that
glitters on Wall St. is not gold… Riveting read of high society
drama…highly recommended.” —
Midwest Book Review

For Duchess:

“The golden era of
Hollywood comes to life for readers in Warren’s third Daughters of Fortune
novel. Warren writes from her heart, adding some intrigue, sins of the past and
some twists and turns readers won’t see coming.” — Romantic Times Book

About the Author

Susan May Warren
is the RITA award-winning author of more than forty novels. A five-time Christy award finalist
and three-time RITA Finalist, she’s also a multi-winner of the Inspirational
Readers Choice award and the ACFW Carol award. A seasoned women’s events
speaker, she’s a popular writing teacher at conferences around the nation.

Check out more great articles

About The Author

Susan May Warren is the ECPA and CBA bestselling author of over fifty novels with more than one million books sold. Winner of a RITA Award and multiple Christy and Carol Awards, as well as the HOLT and numerous Reader's Choice Awards, Susan has written contemporary and historical romances, romantic suspense, thrillers, romantic comedy, and novellas.