Churning out six novels in six months
is not for the faint of heart.

Wanda E. Brunstetter should know—that’s exactly
what she’s up to this spring and summer.
“Because this is a serial novel, my readers can expect
each individual book to be shorter than my
usual novels. They can also expect a cliffhanger
at the end of each of the five books, and an unexpected
twist in the sixth book.”

The Discovery: A Lancaster County Saga, published
by Barbour Books, kicked off February
with Goodbye to Yesterday. The series continued
with The Silence of Winter, The Hope of Spring,
and The Pieces of Summer—and concludes this
summer with A Revelation in Autumn and A Vow
for Always

Wanda has written more than 60 books,
spanning multiple genres, from non-fiction to
children’s—but writing about Amish life gives
Wanda a chance to connect with her origins. “I
have had an interest in the Plain life ever since
I met my husband, Richard, who grew up in a
Mennonite church. Later, when I learned that my
great-great-great grandparents were part of the
Anabaptist faith, my interest was increased.”

Wanda’s inspiration for her
stories comes from personal
relationships and experiences.
“We have many Amish friends
in several communities around
the country. I have gotten to
know them quite well, and have
come to admire their dedication
and willingness to continue
living a lifestyle as their
ancestors did. While my stories
are not written about anyone in
particular, I often pattern some
of the characters from people
I know, and/or events I hear
about or witness firsthand.”

Check out more great articles

About The Author

Award-winning, bestselling author, Wanda E. Brunstetter became fascinated with the Amish way of life when she first visited her husband’s Mennonite relatives living in Pennsylvania. Wanda and her husband, Richard, live in Washington State but take every opportunity to visit Amish settlements throughout the States, where they have several Amish friends.