Lady Eliza Sumner is on a mission. Her fortune
was the last thing she had left after losing her father, her fiance,
and her faith. Now, masquerading as Miss Eliza Sumner,
governess-at-large, she’s determined to find the man who ran off with
her fortune, reclaim the money, and head straight back to London.

Mr. Hamilton Beckett, much to his chagrin, is
the catch of the season, and all the eyes of New York society — all the
female ones, at least — are on him. He has no plans to marry again,
especially since his hands are full keeping his business afloat while
raising his two children alone.
Eliza’s hapless attempts to regain her fortune
unexpectedly put her right in Hamilton’s path.

The discovery of a
common nemesis causes them to join forces and, before she knows it,
Eliza has a whole retinue of people helping her. Eliza’s determination
not to trust anyone weakens when everyone’s antics and bumbling efforts
to assist her make her wonder if there might be more important things
than her fortune and independence.
When all of Hamilton’s and Eliza’s best-laid
plans fall by the wayside, it will take a riot of complications for them
to realize that God just might have had a better plan in mind all along.

Check out more great articles

About The Author

Jen Turano is the best-selling, critically acclaimed author of The Ladies of Distinction series, and A Class of Their Own series, published through Bethany House Publishers. Her novel, After a Fashion, was chosen as a top pick from Romantic Times, as well as being named a top ten romance of 2015 from Booklist. When not writing, Jen spends her time outside of Denver with her husband and their neurotic Cattle Dog, enjoying herself as an empty-nester.

Books by Jen Turano

News & Features: Jen Turano

Q&A: Jen Turano