Your Christian Fiction Information Source

Sunday, December 04, 2016
Todd M. Johnson

Todd M. Johnson

Genres:
Suspense
Todd M. Johnson has practiced as an attorney for over 30 years, specializing as a trial lawyer. A graduate of Princeton University and the University of Minnesota Law School, he also taught for two years as adjunct professor of International Law and served as a US diplomat in Hong Kong. He lives outside Minneapolis, Minnesota, with his wife and daughter.
Debut Legal Thriller From an Experienced Attorney

Debut Legal Thriller From an Experienced Attorney

(July 27, 2012)
Minneapolis, MN — Bethany House brings something new to their mix of inspirational fiction with the release of author Todd M. Johnson’s debut legal thriller The Deposit Slip. Drawing on decades of experience as an attorney and actual cases for inspiration, Todd M. Johnson offers an exceptionally vivid and thrilling picture of the courtroom — and the strategic battles that take place outside of it.

Johnson has always wanted to write a novel, and set his mind to do so, “whether he was successful in publishing one or not.” His “opening argument” is a strong one, with his first release already garnering critical acclaim. The Deposit Slip, says Johnson, was inspired by an actual case from the 1990s involving a deposit slip discovered after the death of a farmer in rural Minnesota. Johnson pulled from this real-life case for both the setting and plot of the novel. The Deposit Slip also centers on a small town, fictional Ashley, Minnesota, and involves the discovery of a mysterious deposit slip for ten million dollars.

The Deposit Slip has it all — danger, deception, and an intense battle for the truth. The result is a gripping legal thriller perfect for fans of John Grisham, Randy Singer, and Robert Whitlow. Todd M. Johnson knows how to ramp up the stakes with every turn of the page — and is definitely an author to watch.

Erin Larson is running out of options. In the wake of her father’s death, she found a slim piece of paper—a deposit slip—with an unbelievable amount on it. Only the bank claims they have no record of the money, and trying to hire a lawyer has brought only intimidation and threats. Erin’s last chance is Jared Neaton—who is doing everything he can to scrape by.

He’s not sure if Erin’s case is worth the risk, but if the money is real, all his problems could vanish. When digging deeper unleashes something far more dangerous than just threats, both Jared and Erin must decide the cost they’re willing to pay to discover the truth.

“With an irresistible set-up, suspense, a subtle love triangle,
strong dialogue, characters, and a focused plot,
Johnson makes a strong first literary case.”

— Publishers Weekly

 

 

 

latest
fiction book trailer

 
latest
tweet
 
facebook
fans