In 1896 Brooks Morgan pulls into
the town of Shoofly, and takes refuge from a storm in a local cafe, where he befriends
John Langston. A high-stakes poker game
ends with Brooks holding the deed to Johnny’s ranch — under one
condition — that Brooks promises to take care of Keri. Brooks assumes Keri is a horse and agrees. Later, Brooks goes to John with the
intention of returning the deed to Raven Creek Ranch, but finds him on
the floor dead from an apparent suicide.

After graduating finishing
school, Keri Langston can think of nothing better than returning home, pulling on a pair of overalls, and riding the range at Raven Creek
Ranch. She arrives at Shoofly to discover that the ranch she expected
to inherit was lost in a card game by her uncle and that he has since committed
suicide. Brooks heads off to the ranch and is ambushed. With a noose around his neck and hands tied behind his back, he
offers the first prayer up to God, whom he hasn’t spoken to in a very
long time. A stunning shot breaks the rope; he’s freed by the rifle of a lady on horseback. Keri can’t believe that
she just saved the man she really wants to kill — the scoundrel who
stole her uncle’s ranch.

Brooks says he isn’t
leaving the ranch. Keri says he can’t stay, the property was intended
for her. Can they learn to work together to save the ranch or will they
pull it apart out of selfish greed?

Related link:Hit the Trail: Three historical romance authors team up for Texas Trails

The series:

Lone Star Trail (Texas Trails #1)
Captive Trail (Texas Trails #2)
The Long Trail Home (Texas Trails #3)
A Ranger’s Trail (Texas Trails #4)
Cowgirl Trail (Texas Trails #5)
End of the Trail (Texas Trails #6)